About Us / Who We Serve  / 

Serving Dallas County

Population by RaceThe Turn•Around Agenda is located in the heart of the Oak Cliff community in the City of Dallas. A part of the southwest section of the city, Oak Cliff occupies approximately 200 square miles and is situated around the White Rock Escarpment, which endows the area with plentiful trees and natural landscaping.

Oak Cliff, originally named Hord’s Ridge, was founded in the mid 1840’s by William H. Hord. Mr. Hord came to the area to stake out a homestead on land offered to single men and heads of families by the Peters Colony Company. Following a period of slow growth, the town of Hord’s Ridge was renamed Oak Cliff as a campaign to characterize the area’s massive oaks and rolling hills in order to attract residential settlement.

The town was annexed by its rival neighbor, Dallas, in 1903 in a bitter election. Oak Cliff became a part of Dallas but remained an island apart, separated physically by the Trinity River and politically and socially in its fundamentalist doctrine. Oak Cliff today is still very much an independent enclave of Dallas, an area with its own identity and history. (Data Source: Oak Cliff Chamber of Commerce)

Once virtually all white, Oak Cliff has become the home to waves of African American and Hispanic residents…comprising over 80% of the community’s population.

The following chart provides a demographic overview of Oak Cliff in comparison to the City of Dallas (not including the southern suburbs).
Oak Cliff Demographic Overview
TTA’s reach expands beyond the Oak Cliff community into the southern suburbs of Dallas County, which are:
  • Lancaster
  • DeSoto
  • Duncanville
  • Cedar Hill

TTA is currently working with approximately 30 public schools in the Dallas, Lancaster, DeSoto, Duncanville and Cedar Hill school districts, offering school-based mentoring, life skills education and a variety of support services to students and their families. The 30 public schools represent six school clusters in the aforementioned school districts that have feeder patterns that designate the schools that students follow as they graduate from one level to the next. The goal is to keep these students together as they feed from their elementary and middle schools to corresponding high schools.


Participating Public Schools

Carter Cluster Cedar Hill Cluster Duncanville Cluster Kimball Cluster Lancaster Cluster
DeWayne Norris
Ashley Randolph
Allen Lockhart
Ocielia Gibson
Raelynn Pineda
High School
  • Carter High
High Schools
  • Cedar Hill High
  • Cedar Hill Collegiate High School
  • Disciplinary Alternative Education Program (DAEP)
High School
  • Duncanville
High School
  • Kimball
High School
  • Lancaster
Middle School
  • WH Atwell
Middle Schools
  • Bessie Coleman
  • Joe Wilson Int.
  • Permenter Middle
  • 9th Grade Ctr.
Middle Schools
  • Kennemer
  • Reed
  • Byrd

Intermediate Schools
  • Brandenburg
  • Daniel
  • Hardin

Alternative Schools
  • Summit Education Center
  • PAGE School
Middle School
  • Browne
Middle Schools
  • Elsie Robertson
  • GW Carter 6th Grade STEM Center
Elementary Schools
  • Adelle Turner
  • Birdie Alexander
  • Mark Twain
  • Martin Weiss
  • TG Terry
  • Umphrey Lee
  • Ronald McNair
Elementary Schools
  • Bray
  • High Pointe
  • Highlands
  • Lake Ridge
  • Plummer
  • Waterford Oaks
Elementary Schools
  • Smith
  • Alexander
  • Merrifield
  • Central
  • Hyman
  • Fairmeadows
  • Acton
  • Hastings
  • Bilhartz
Elementary Schools
  • Leslie Simmons
  • Thomas Tolbert
  • LO Donald
  • Daniel Webster
  • Lenore K. Hall
  • John W. Carpenter
  • Maria Moreno
  • Jimmie T. Brashear
  • Margaret B. Henderson
Elementary Schools
  • Rolling Hills
  • Beltline
  • Pleasant Run
  • West Main
  • Houston
  • Rosa Parks/Millbrook
  • Lancaster

Additional Schools
  • J.D. Hall Learning Center
7125 S. Polk St • Dallas, TX 75232
Mon - Fri | 8:30am - 5pm • 972-228-0872